Board of Directors – Electricity Southland Limited

Electricity Southland’s Board is mirrored by the two shareholders, Electricity Invercargill Ltd and The Power Company Ltd.

Director responsibilities are governed by the company’s constitution and the Companies Act 1993. Their role includes determining policies, monitoring Electricity Southland’s performance, reporting to the shareholders and ensuring that Electricity Southland complies with relevant legislation.

The Directors are:

Duncan Fea BCom (Chair)

Duncan FeaDuncan is a Principal in Crowe Horwath based in Queenstown. He has broad business experience including corporate governance and recovery and advises both New Zealand and overseas clients on their commercial affairs. Duncan is a past Director of Pioneer Generation Limited and Queenstown Airport Corporation Limited. Duncan is a Director of The Power Company Limited and a Member of the OtagoNet Joint Venture Governing Committee.

Duncan is a Chartered Fellow of the Institute of Directors.

Doug Fraser BSc (Chemistry)

Doug FraserDoug farms sheep and dairy cows on 595 hectares in Western Southland. He is Chair of Otago Power Services Limited, member of the OtagoNet Joint Venture Governing Committee and a Director of The Power Company Limited.

Doug is a Member of the Institute of Directors.

Don Nicolson

Don operates a grazing farm at Waimatua, east of Invercargill and a cropping farm at Irwell, Canterbury.  He is a Director of PowerNet Limited with previous governance roles as local and national President, Federated Farmers of New Zealand.  Don is also a former Trustee of the Southland Electric Power Supply Consumer Trust.

Don is a member of the Institute of Directors. 



Ross Smith BCom

Ross was appointed to the Board of OtagoNet in 2016 and PowerNet in November 2003.  In 2015 Ross was appointed Chair of the PowerNet Board. 
In July 2014, after 22 years in the role, he stepped down from the position as Chief Executive of SBS Bank to concentrate on his Directors roles. At the same time he relinquished his Directors positions at SBS Bank, Finance Now Limited, Funds Administration NZ Limited and Southsure Assurance Limited.

Ross is a Member of the Institute of Directors.