Board of Directors – Electricity Invercargill Ltd.

The Electricity Invercargill Board is made up of two representatives from the Invercargill City Council and three community representatives appointed by Invercargill City Holdings Limited.

Directors’ responsibilities are governed by the company’s constitution and the Companies Act 1993. The directors’ roles include determining policy, preparing a Statement of Intent, Business Plan and Asset Management Plan, monitoring PowerNet’s performance, reporting to the shareholder (Invercargill City Holdings Limited), publishing an Annual Report and ensuring PowerNet complies with relevant legislation.

The Directors are:

Thomas Campbell (Chair) – BSc (Metallurgy)

Thomas CampbellTom is a former Managing Director of Comalco and former General Manager of the Tiwai Aluminium Smelter who now works as an independent company Director.

His directorships include PowerNet Limited, Todd Corporation and Venture Southland as well as being the Chair of the Energy Efficiency Conservation Authority (EECA) and Southland Regional Development Strategy Governance Group.

Tom is a Chartered Fellow of the Institute of Directors.

 Karen Arnold

Karen is a former multi award-winning investigative journalist – is a second-term Invercargill City Councillor.

She is chair of the council’s Urban Rejuvenation Committee, deputy chair of the Hearings Committee and a trustee of both the Southland Warm Homes Trust and Invercargill Recreation and Sports Trust.

With a strong passion for governance, Karen is a member of the Institute of Directors.

She is also a director of PowerNet Limited.

Sarah Brown LLB BA

Sarah BrownSarah joined the Board of Electricity Invercargill Limited on 1 November 2013. She is also a Director of PowerNet Limited.

She is the Project Manager for the Southland Regional Development Strategy, has been Council Chair of Southern Institute of Technology since 2011 and is a trustee of the 1000 Days Trust.

Sarah is a member of the Institute of Directors.

 Joe O’Connell BCom CA

Joe joined the Boards of Electricity Invercargill and PowerNet Limited  in December 2016.  He serves as a Director on a number of Companies and was Chairman of Invercargill Airport Limited from 2011 – 2016.

He has worked in many industries including Transport, Timber, Concrete, Petroleum Distribution, Drilling Exploration, Property and Growing Media.

Joe is a Chartered Accountant and a Member of the Institute of Directors.

Ross Smith BCom 

rossSmithRoss was appointed to the Board of Electricity Invercargill Limited and PowerNet in November 2003.  In 2015 Ross was appointed Chair of the PowerNet Board.  Ross is also a Director of Peak Power Services Limited.

In July 2014, after 22 years in the role, he stepped down from the position as Chief Executive of SBS Bank to concerntrate on his Directors roles. At the same time he relinquished his Directors positions at SBS Bank, Fianance Now Limited, Funds Administration NZ Limited and Southsure Assurance Limited.

Ross is a Member of the Institute of Directors.